Please login or register

Books of Magic (1990)

Books of Magic (1990)

Genres: Fantasy

Publisher: DC Comics

Writer: Neil Gaiman

Artist: John Bolton

Publication date: 1990 - 1991

Status: Completed

Views: 330,156


DC Comics originally tasked  writer J.M. DeMatteis to come  up with a new series that  would  focus on DC  various  magical properties. Although the project  initially  fell through, DC later  approached  Neil Gaiman to pen the mini-series. Gaiman introduced the young boy Tim Hunter as his protagonist and had four mystics John Constantine, Phantom Stranger, Dr. Occult and Mister E lead Tim on a journey acrros time and space while meeting almost every magical or supernatural character in the DC Universe.  
Each issue was painted by a different artist, John Bolton, Scott Hampton, Charles Vess and Paul Johnson.
The series proved popular and Tim Hunter's adventures continued into the Mister E mini-series and Arcana Annual before landing his own ongoing The Books of Magic in 1994 under Vertigo.  Although this miniseries was published by DC, the numerous spin-offs were all published under the then new mature reader's imprint, Vertigo.


Please do NOT spoil content of NEXT issues [Report spoiler]. Do not spam or link to other comic sites.
Show Comments Box
[ Back to top ]